The Visitor Center is a replica of the sugar mill originally built in 1853 in an area of the Valley now known as Sugar House. During its life, it also served as a paper mill, a woolen factory, a bucket and tub works, and a coal yard office.
Today the Visitor Center is home to a thriving gift shop, the Mormon Battalion Museum, and the Stoddard Art Gallery. In the Visitor Center Theater, guests can view a film that tells the story of the pioneer journey to the Salt Lake Valley.
Ever wonder what happened to Good and Plenty, Beemans Gum, or Mallo Cups? They can be found along with other nostalgic candies, books, toys, jewelry, and other unique gifts at the Visitor Center Gift Shop. The shop carries many of Utah's finest products, exclusive crafts, and authentic wares created by This Is The Place artisans.